The Journey Begins

Ever since taking up Brazilian Jujitsu and making it my way of life, I have trained with so many great people and experienced great memories. Each experience is unique and I think we tend to take that for granted. Because of this, (actually because on my girlfriend’s recommendation), I decided to start a blog about my BJJ experience, travel, and lifestyle.

I suppose I should introduce myself first, my motivations, and my BJJ background. I started training shortly after graduating from college in 2011. Despite having always trained in some form of martial arts, when I came back home I found myself slightly overweight and bored. So I decided to first try Judo but that was short lived. After that brief stint, I googled BJJ and found the closest academy to me at that time, a place called Flying Armbar BJJ in Maplewood, NJ. And I never left. Kinda.

Since then, I’ve been training, learning, and competing under their banner. This was where I met most of my closest friends, whom I have shared many great life experiences with.

IMG955143

 

Good company in a journey makes the way seem shorter. — Izaak Walton

 

One thought on “The Journey Begins

  1. Kari says:

    Glad to read your article! I am looking forward to reading more about your BJJ experience, travel, and lifestyle. I bet it will be very inspiring if you get a chance to explain a little bit about the mindset of BJJ how you practice that in life!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment